Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn win the 20th anniversary Targa South Island / Photo: Fast Company/ProShotz

After winning their class in a staggering 20 out of the 26 stages they competed in, Pukekohe pair Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn have won this year's Targa South Island Allcomers 4WD. Having been trying to win the event for five years, crossing the finishing line in first place was more of a relief than anything else for Inkster.

“Monday and Tuesday seem such a long time ago now. And to be honest, we've been pretty tame and safe all event,” he said. 

Inkster said the slipping clutch he was dealing with in the morning of the final day had him worried. 

“But really it was a tiny problem and I think we were beating ourselves up for no reason. The guys did a great job all week in keeping the car going,” he said.

Martin Dippie and Jona Grant in their 2007 Porsche GT3 RS took out the Modern 2WD class and were also the first resident South Island pair to cross the line. 

“We're very pleased. The car has gone like a freight train — no issues at all,” Dippe said. “We did have one moment on the Crown Range today where we gave ourselves a wee fright, but that's racing.”

In the Metalman Classic 2WD class Mark Kirk-Burnnand and Chris Kirk-Burnnand won in their 1987 BMW M3 taking out nine of the 26 stages with more than two and a half minutes to spare between themselves and Rob Ryan and Paul Burborough. 

This year's 20th anniversary Targa South Island attracted more than 120 entries across the three competitive classes and nearly 80 entries into the Targa Tour.