The father-and-son duo that is Mark and Chris Kirk-Burnnand (BMW M3) are out of the competition after leading the Metalman Classic class. In an interview with Targa Media representative Ross McKay, Mark said, “About 15kms in the engine just went bang. There's now a hole you could put your foot through in the [engine] block, so we borrowed a trailer off Glenn Inkster and towed the car out. There's no way we can find and fit another engine in the time we have left so we'll spend the rest of the event supporting the other Kirk-Burnnand cars and come back ourselves next year.”

Meanwhile, Glenn Inkster and Spencer Winn (Mitsubishi Evo 8) continued to stamp their dominance on the field after the end of a rain-lashed day four (Thursday, October 29), with a lead of eight minutes and four seconds over Tony Quinn and Naomi Tillett (2008 Nissan GTR). 

The 21st annual Targa New Zealand event now heads east to Havelock North via Taihape and the Gentle Annie road on Friday, October 30, before returning west for the finish at Palmerston North (at The Square) on Saturday, October 31.

Friday also sees the start of the two-day Targa Regional Rally event within an event.


Andrew Simms Allcomer 4WD

  1. Glenn Inkster / Spencer Winn (2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) 04:24:08
  2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett (2008 Nissan GTR) 04:32:04
  3. Brian Green / Fleur Pedersen (2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS) 04:47:35
  4. David Rogers / Aidan Kelly (2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS) 04:50:18
  5. Graeme Wong / Kim Blatchley (1998 Subaru Impreza Type R) 05:07:38
  6. Jeff McCandless / Marcella Mumm (2010 Subaru WRX ST1) 05:14:10

Metalman Classic 2WD

  1. Bevan Claridge / Campbell Tannock (1992 Holden Commodore) 04:47:34
  2. Keith and Mary Anne Callinan (1977 Ford Escort) 04:57:37
  3. Ashton Wood / Chris Lancaster (1976 Ford Escort RS1800) 05:03:28
  4. Bruce Farley / Glen Warner (1986 BMW 325 325) 05:04:01
  5. Mark and Chris Kirk-Burnnand (1987 BMW M3) 05:06:18
  6. Carl Kirk-Burnnand / Scott Hay (1991 BMW 325i) 05:07:12 Modern 2WD

  1. Martin Dippie / Jona Grant (2007 Porsche GT3 RS) 04:40:11
  2. Steven Kirk-Burnnand / Mick Hay (1994 BMW 318ti) 04:43:33
  3. Grant Aitken / Caroline Cullimore (2013 Toyota 86 RC) 04:48:38
  4. Robert Darrington / David Abetz (2002 BMW M3) 04:48:40
  5. Matt Todd / Dan Reichenbach (2008 BMW M3) 04:50:28
  6. Chris Lewis / Kieran Anstis (2013 Toyota TR86) 04:53:40


  1. Glenn Inkster / Spencer Winn 04:24:08
  2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett 04:32:04
  3. Martin Dippie / Jona Grant 04:40:11
  4. Steven Kirk-Burnnand / Mick Hay 04:43:33
  5. Bevan Claridge / Campbell Tannock 04:47:24
  6. Brian Green / Fleur Pedersen 04:47:35

Leading the Modern 2WD class after four days of Targa New Zealand competition is Dunedin pair Martin Dippie and Jona Grant in a Porsche 911 GT3.

Latest front-runners to retire are Mark and Chris Kirk-Burnnand (BMW M3).

Now with a healthy lead in Metalman Classic are Bevan Claridge and Campbell Tannock (Holden Commodore V8).

And now up to second place in Metalman Classic 2WD is the Australian husband-and-wife pair of Keith and Mary Anne Callinan (Ford Escort RS1800).

Photo credit: Fast Company/ProShotz



Ashley Webb

Ashley Webb joined Parkside Media 10 years ago as Advertising Manager for the newly created NZV8 magazine. When the opportunity arose to work on New Zealand Classic Car magazine as Assistant Editor just over eight years ago, he couldn't resist the challenge and has worked on the magazine ever since, and is now the Editor of New Zealand Classic Car.
Ashley is passionate about most classic cars and has a particular interest in late ’60s US muscle cars.