MotorSport New Zealand recognized our best and brightest at their recent annual awards ceremony, MotorSport New Zealand Awards 2015, which was held in Wellington on May 23. The evening began and ended with emotion onstage, as the motorsport community paid tribute to those who have excelled on the track, and contributed off it, in the past 12 months.

For Parkside Media and New Zealand Classic Car magazine, the awards were something of a hat-trick, with three regular contributors to the magazine walking off with awards.

Terry Marshall, who has been providing stunning motorsport images to New Zealand Classic Car for many years, received the President’s Award for the best single motorsport shot of the year. His winning image is pictured above.

Terry Collier was the proud recipient of the Lupp Trophy, awarded to those who embody the very spirit and values associated with the classic and historic racing movement. Terry has also written many features for New Zealand Classic Car — his ‘Kiwi Connection’ feature on the Maserati 250F still stands as the definitive history of these iconic racing cars in New Zealand. Terry was also presented with a Distinguished Service Award.

Once again, our very own Donn Anderson, was recognized as the Feature Journalist of the Year through his July 2014 ‘Motor Man’ column on Jack Brabham.

Also on the classic-car front, well done to NZ Festival of Motoring Chairman, Jim Barclay, who was a deserving winner of the Ron Frost Award.

Other highlights of the evening included Karen Paddon of the South Canterbury Car Club accepting the Distinguished Service Award for the more than 35 years that she has spent working behind the scenes to ensure events in several categories run smoothly.

To close the evening, immensely proud father Bryan Hartley accepted New Zealand’s premier motorsport award — The Jim Clark Trophy — on behalf of his son, Brendon, who is currently competing as a factory Porsche driver in the prestigious FIA World Endurance Championship.

MotorSport New Zealand Awards 2015

  • The Jim Clark Trophy: Brendon Hartley.
  • The Rally Founders Trophy: Richard Mason, the current New Zealand Rally Champion — a title he has won five times.
  • The Steel Memorial Trophy: New Zealand Formula Ford winner, James Munro.
  • The Lupp Trophy: Terry Collier
  • The MotorSport Media Personality of the Year Award: Hayden Paddon
  • Volunteer of the Year: Allan and Sue Baird
  • Technical D’Honneur Awards: Ron McMillan and Barry Carrington
  • The Ron Frost Award: Jim Barclay
  • Distinguished Service Awards: Karen Paddon, John Armstrong, Nigel Russell, Terry Collier, Jill Cowham
  • Awards of Merit: Steph Harris and Roger Laird.

The Certificate of Outstanding Achievement, Richard and Sara Mason Media Award winners:

  • News Journalist of the Year: Shaun Summerfield
  • Feature Journalist of the Year: Donn Anderson
  • Photographer of the Year (Portfolio): Bruce Jenkins
  • President’s Award (single shot): Terry Marshall